Tulia Ackson elected Tanzania speaker

February 1, 2022
Mbeya Urban MP Tulia Ackson Mwansasu was voted as Speaker of Tanzania's 12th National Assembly on January 22, 2022.

By Kwanta Douglas –

Tanzanian Parliament on Tuesday voted Mbeya Urban MP Tulia Ackson Mwansasu as Speaker of the 12th National Assembly.

Dr Ackson garnered 100 percent votes, beating eight other candidates in the race to succeed Job Ndugai. The 372 members present voted.

Mr Ndugai resigned on January 6 following pressure from ruling CCM members to leave the post after he criticised the government’s borrowing spree.

Parliament Chairman William Lukuvi on Tuesday announced Dr Ackson as winner.

Dr Ackson, who, until the election, was the Deputy Speaker, will be the second woman in Tanzania to serve as the National Assembly Speaker after Ms Anne Makinda, who held the position in 2010-2015.

Ackson, 45, a lawyer by profession, was deputy speaker under Ndugai.

She garnered all the 376 votes cast, beating eight challengers from other political parties.

The election to fill the position of deputy speaker seat that Ackson vacated earlier in the morning is set to be held later in the afternoon.

The election of the Speaker and deputy speaker was the first order of business as Parliament began its first session of 2022 in the administrative capital Dodoma.

Dr Ackson’s triumph was widely considered to be a foregone conclusion after CCM’s topmost decision-making organ, the Central Committee chaired by President Samia Suluhu Hassan, nominated her over several other party candidates and CCM legislators endorsed her at a caucus meeting.

The National Assembly is presently dominated by CCM by a big majority.

Of the 393 MPs currently registered, 362 are from CCM with just three other parties – Chadema, Civic United Front and ACT-Wazalendo – holding the remaining 31 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss

Kenya: UK reassures investors of peaceful business environment ahead of elections

By Kwanta Douglas – United Kingdom High Commissioner to Kenya,

Williams Ruto declared winner of Kenya Presidential race

The head of Kenya’s election body on Monday declared Deputy