Sokoto Govt dethrones 15 traditional leaders, reinstate 7 others

Sokoto Govt dethrones 15 traditional leaders, reinstate 7 others

Sokoto State Government has announced the immediate dethronement of 15 traditional leaders for various offences bordering on aiding insecurity, land racketeering and others while 4 others are still being investigated.

Making the decision of the state government known in a statement signed by the Governor’s spokesperson, Abubakar Bawa, said 15 dethroned, 6 of them was because of non compliance with due process in their appointments.

According to Bawa, 7 other traditional leaders were also retained while the district heads of Sabon Birni local government and his counterpart from Binji were transferred to Gatawa and Bubkari districts respectively.

Read Also: How Binance executive planned prison escape, applied for new US passport

The statement was a recommendations from the committee earlier set up by the Ahmed Aliyu led government to review appointment of traditional leaders, renaming of higher institutions and dissolution of Governing Boards of State parastatals other than the statutory bodies.

The statement read in part, “District Heads of Tsaki and Asara are to retain their seats. Cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi were recommended for further investigation”.

“The District Heads of Sabon Birni and that of Binji have been transfered to Gatawa and Bubkari Districts respectively .

Read Also: U.S. will begin sending weapons to Ukraine – Biden 

“The District Heads of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tullawa, Illela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu and that of Giyawa have been relieved of their appointments for various offences bordering on aiding insecurity, land racketeering, conversion of public properties for personal use amongst others .

“The District Heads of Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gogono, Saekin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Toroankawa have all been dropped hence their appointments didn’t follow process”.

He also disclosed that Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar has been retained as the Ciroman Sokoto, Ibrahim Dasuki Mohammed Maccido as Barayan Zaki, Abubakar Bukari Salame as Sarkin Arewan Salame, while Alhaji Aminu Aliyu Balle remained Sarkin Yamman Balle.

Others who also got their positions retained include: Alhaji Mahmud Shahu Yabo as Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe, Alhaji Muntari Muhammad Tukur Ambarura as Sarkin Gabas Ambarura while Malam Isa Aliyu Rarah retains Saekin Gabas Rarah”.

What do you think?

Written by Nike

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Skills, entrepreneurship best way to go – Sokoto NDE Coordinator

    EFCC grills ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika over alleged N8bn Nigeria Air fraud