in ,

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: ‘We’re ready for Nigeria’s Super Falcons on July 27,’ says Australian Envoy

Super Falcons of Nigeria


Charge d’Affaires, Australian High Commission in Nigeria, Leann Johnston, said on Saturday that all Australias are looking forward to the Super Falcons’ 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup match against the Matildas in July.

The Super Falcons have been drawn in Group B with co-hosts Australia, Canada and debutants Republic of Ireland, ahead of the 2023 FIFA women’s World Cup.

 The Nigerian women are billed to open their campaign against reigning Olympic champions Canada on 21 July 2023 before facing co-hosts Australia 27 July.

Leann Johnston spoke at a forum tagged “Women and Sports Dialogue 2023,” organised by Fame Foundation, a gender-based non-profit organisation.

She described the Nigerian-Australian match as very important to her country.

According to the Australian official, “Australians know the Super Falcons’ reputation, not only as multiple African champions but also as a great force in global women football.

”Our match against them in Brisbane will not be taken lightly. This game will be a great one,” she said.

Johnston said further that Australia were fully prepared and ready to co-host the 2023 FIFA Women World Cup with New Zealand in July and August.

She said the FIFA women’s football showpiece would provide her country a unique opportunity to showcase her multi-cultural aspect as a nation.

Johnston, who was a guest speaker at the forum, also also assured all the participating teams of an historic tournament the whole world would remember for long time.

“We are a nation that brings people from every corner of the world together with our indigenous community and the world’s longest continually existing culture” she said.

The envoy said Australia was committed to promoting gender equality and to ensuring that women have equal rights and ability to flourish.

Thirty-two countries are to participate in the competition, with some of them being Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China PR, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Haiti, Italy and Jamaica.

The rest are Morocco, Netherlands, Japan, Korea Republic, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the U.S., Vietnam and Zambia.

What do you think?


Written by Tom Chiahemen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    FIFA Women’s World Cup trophy arrives in Nigeria

    Nigerian Police arrest 781 for electoral crimes during 2023 elections