in , ,

‘We’re not aware of shortlist of 22 justices for Supreme Court’ – NJC

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has said that it is not aware of the shortlist of 22 justices made by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) for the bench of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

NJC Director of Information, Barrister Soji Oye, said that the nomination has not been brought to his knowledge.

The FJSC reportedly sent a list of 22 justices from the Court of Appeal for consideration by the NJC for elevation to the apex court.

The FJSC list, released on Thursday, showed a regional distribution of nominees, with North-Central and South East each having six nominees, and North-East, South-West, and South-South each having two nominees, while North-West has four nominees.

This announcement followed the disclosure in September 2023 that the Supreme Court’s justices had diminished to 10 as against the 21 stipulated by the Constitution.

Below is the list of the nominated justices:


Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)—Priority

Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State)—Reserve

Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority

Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)—Reserve

Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)—Priority

Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (Imo State)—Reserve


Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)—Priority

Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)–Reserve


Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)—Priority

Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)—Reserve


Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)—Priority

Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau State)—Reserve

Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)—Priority

Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State)—Reserve

Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)—Priority

Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)—Reserve


Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)—Priority

Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)—Priority

Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State)—Reserve

Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)—Priority

Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)—Reserve

Although the NJC Director of Information did not categorically deny the nomination, he declined to confirm it on the ground that the proposal had not been brought to the attention of his office.

What do you think?

Written by Jonathan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Gov Oyebanji harps on need to bolster healthcare

    ‘Develop national soil information system to avoid hunger’- Don warns FG