NJC appoints four new Supreme Court Justices, 18 others


The National Judicial Council on thursady recommended the appointment of four new Justices for the Supreme Court.

They are Justices Adamu Jauro (North-East Zone); Emmanuel A. Agim (South-South Zone); C. Oseji (South-South Zone); and Helen M. Ogunwumiju (South-West Zone), all Justices of the Court of appeal

The council at its meetings held on Tuesday and Wednesday also recommended the appointment of four new heads of court, 13 judicial officers for Federal and State High courts and one Kadi for the Sharia Court of Appeal.

According to a statement by its Director of Information, Soji Oye, NJC also recommended Justices John Tsoho and Bernedict Kanyip as substantive Chief Judge and President of the Federal High Court and National Industrial Court respectively

The NJC also placed eight judges under investigations for various allegations of official misconduct.


Leave a Reply