Madagascar President wins AfDB Babacar Ndiaye Trophy

President Andry Rajoelina of Madagascar

President Andry Rajoelina of Madagascar has been named winner of the prestigious Babacar Ndiaye Trophy for 2023 by the Africa Road Builders Selection Committee.

This is contained in a statement by the African Development Bank Group (AfDB).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the AfDB sponsored the Babacar Ndiaye Trophy, also known as the Super Prize.

The award was created in honour of Babacar Ndiaye, president of the African Development Bank Group, from 1985 to 1995.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that he will succeed Tanzanian President Samia Suluhu, who won the award in 2022.

The bank said Rajoelina was chosen during a meeting in Dakar for his personal leadership, commitment and investment to provide Madagascar with mobility infrastructure fully aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals.

“The committee cited the construction of the Iarivo ring road, the highway encircling the capital Antananarivo, as the symbol of sustainable mobility infrastructure built by the Malagasy leader.

“The highway has pedestrian and cycling lanes alongside the roadways. It also has secure bus stops and garbage drop-off points.

“Rajoelina achievements also include the expansion of Iarivo airport which has facilities for people with reduced mobility and improved car parks.

“His investments also span strengthening transport connectivity in rural areas, “it said.

The statement bank said President Rajoelina will receive his trophy on May 26, on the sideline of AfDB’s Annual Meeting in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt.

NAN reports each year, the Africa Road Builders Selection Committee assesses ambitious realised projects that impact on the mobility of people in Africa.

Past winners of the award, since its inauguration in 2016, were presidents of Nigeria, Morocco, Zambia, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Gabon, Senegal, Rwanda, Kenya, Gambia, Egypt and Tanzania.

NAN reports that President Muhammadu Buhari was named winner of the 2021 Great Builder Super Prize. (NAN)

What do you think?


Written by Tom Chiahemen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    UN agency urges govts not to return people to Sudan

    AFRIMA demands justice for slain AKA, urges Govt in Africa to protect music stars