Israel, Britain restrict travel from Southern Africa over new variant

Isreali's Prime Minister, Naftali Bennett

Israel and Britain is set to impose additional travel restrictions on many African countries, over concerns of new Corona virus type prompted.

South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, and Eswatini have been categorized by Israel with immediate effect, according to Prime Minister Naftali Bennett’s office.

Foreigners from certain countries are no longer allowed to travel to Israel from those locations, and Israelis returning from there must stay in a coronavirus hotel for up to 14 days.

If they return a negative PCR test after a week, they can be freed.

From midday on Friday, Britain will stop flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, and Zimbabwe, and all six countries will be added to London’s red list, according to Health Secretary Sajid Javid.

In southern Africa, the novel variation B.1.1529 has been discovered.

Coronavirus cases with the variation have been verified in Botswana, South Africa, and Hong Kong, according to the British news agency PA.


Leave a Reply